Buffalo Springfield


Buffalo Springfield

Buffalo Springfield is a North American folk rock band renowned both for its music and as a springboard for the careers of Neil Young, Stephen Stills, Richie Furay and Jim Messina. Among the first wave of North American bands to become popular in the wake of the British invasion, the group combined rock, folk, and country music into a sound all its own. Its million-selling song "For What It's Worth" became a political anthem for the turbulent late 1960s.

Former members

Richie Furay - guitar, vocals (1966–1968, 2010–2012)

Stephen Stills - guitar, keyboards, vocals (1966–1968, 2010–2012)

Neil Young - guitar, harmonica, piano, vocals (1966–1968, 2010–2012)

Dewey Martin - drums, vocals (1966–1968; died 2009)

Bruce Palmer - bass guitar (1966–1968; died 2004)

Jim Messina - bass guitar (1968)

Ken Koblun - bass guitar (1966)

Additional musicians

Joe Vitale - drums, vocals (2010–2012)

Rick Rosas - bass guitar (2010–2012)


Average album rating 1966 Buffalo Springfield  
Average album rating 1967 Buffalo Springfield Again  
Average album rating 1968 Last Time Around  
Average album rating 1969 Retrospective: The Best of Buffalo Springfield  Compilation
Average album rating 2001 Buffalo Springfield (Box Set)  Compilation