DM's opera site
libretti & information
Other “Tannhäuser” libretti [show]
Line-by-line [show]

Tannhäuser” by Richard Wagner libretto (English)

Contents: Characters; Act One; Act Two; Act Three

Hermann - Bass
Tannhäuser - Tenor
Wolfram von Eschenbach - Baritone
Walther von der Vogelweide - Tenor
Biterolf - Bass
Heinrich der Schreiber - Tenor
Reinmar von Zweter - Bass
Elisabeth - Soprano
Venus - Soprano
A young Shepherd - Soprano
Four Pages - Soprano And Alto

Thuringian knights. Counts and noblemen. Noblewomen. Older pilgrims. Younger pilgrims. Sirens. Naiads. Nymphs. Bacchantes

Time: At the beginning of the thirteenth century

Act One: The interior of the Hörselberg near Eisenach; A valley below the Wartburg
Act Two: On the Wartburg
Act Three: Valley below the Wartburg


Contents: Characters; Act One; Act Two; Act Three


comments powered by HyperComments